你已读完了“恢复密码的程序”文章的话,你已经知道我们使用两个密码破解方式:字典破解(最佳方式)和掩码暴力破解(非常资源密集的工作)。下面我们来计算各类工作恢复密码赔率。

弱密码恢复

我们积累了很好的最常用(弱)密码的仓库。这是实际存在的密码,不同的人很多次把它们使用为保护自己的数据。排行榜含有的初几位是大家都很熟悉的“123456”、“password”、“qwerty”、“abc123”等,排行榜含有3百万多最常用的密码。这样的密码经常使用的原因为简直懒得记住复杂密码,因此这种密码很薄弱。

任何文件破解3百万密码,对我们计算机群来说是最多两分钟的工作。作为令人高兴的红利我们免费给我们的访问者提供这种服务。弱密码破解的赔率是不太大—据我们内部统计,大约为22%。但考虑到这种工作一瞬间就可以完成,值得试一下。

强密码恢复

如果用弱密码库的攻击失败,我们下面转到第二个阶段—即用主要数据库破解密码。我们的数据库目前含有2百亿多实际密码。用这种字典破解需要更长时间(24小时以下),而且是收费的。不过好效果是很有可能的:据我们统计,用了这个方式61%个例子破解成功。

掩码暴力破解

暴力破解具有100%的破解密码赔率,因为这就是直接破解所有可能的组合。不过应该理解的是,甚至不太长的密码方案数量是非常大的。例如,总共有60千万万亿(60*1018)多个10个字符密码方案。最强的超级计算机也不能完成这个作业,而且你的钱包也会受不了。

你提前知道密码的结构(即你知道密码的最大(或者实际的)长度并它里使用了哪些字符)时,才会使用暴力破解。例如,如果密码是8个字符长并只由上排键英文字母组成,一共有2.17千亿方案。用GPU服务器破解这样的密码是完全可能的。而如果密码长度 是9个字符,方案的数量就增加到5万亿了。这样的任务数倍复杂化,不过有很大的欲望而且财力可能的话,也完全能解决:利用我们的计算集群过一两周可以破解这样的密码。

不过请注意:100%成功赔率的前提是,你应该指出正确的掩码。如果你在密码忽略了甚至一个字符,所有的努力就白浪费了。

结论

综上所述,我们将造一下破解密码赔率表:

攻击类别 要求的时间 价格 成功率
弱密码恢复 几分钟 免费 ≈ 22%
强密码恢复 24个小时以内 从$29 ≈ 61%
掩码暴力破解 取决于掩码的难度 按要求提供 100% (指定了正确的掩码情况下)

另请参阅

Copyright © 2017-2020 LostMyPass.com

往上

If you have already read the article “The Password Recovery Process,” then you know that we use two methods to recover passwords: brute force by dictionary (the best option) and brute force with a mask (very resource-intensive work). Next, we will calculate the chances of recovering the password for each method.

Weak password recovery

We have collected quite a good database of the most popular (or weak, in other words) passwords. These are commonly used passwords that have been repeatedly chosen by different people to protect their personal data. The top list begins with the well-known “123456,” “password,” “qwerty,” “abc123,” etc., and contains more than 3 million of the most popular passwords. Such passwords are often used because of user laziness and unwillingness to remember a complex password, which makes it very vulnerable to a hacker.

Recovering a weak password is only a few minutes of work for our computing cluster. We do this for free as a gift to our visitors. The chances that your lost password is in the list of weak passwords is about 22%. But, considering the instant results, it's worth trying.

Strong password recovery

If the weak password attack was unsuccessful, we proceed to the second stage: the search through the main password database. The database contains more than 20 billion real passwords. Searching through such a large dictionary takes much more time (up to 24 hours for strong encrypted files like MS Office 2013 documents and 7z archives) and costs some money. But the chances that you will recover your lost passwords are much higher: according to our statistics, the search ends successfully in 61% of cases.

Brute force with a given mask

A brute force attack has a 100% chance of success, because it is a direct search through all possible variants. But you need to remember that the number of variants even for a comparatively short password is very large. For example, there are 67 quintillion (67 * 1018) possible variants for a 10-character password. This is an almost impossible task for most supercomputers, and for your wallet.

So, a brute force attack is usually used when you know the password structure. For example, you know the maximum (or better, exact) length of the password and the set of symbols used in it. Let’s say the lost password has an 8-character length and consists only of the English alphabet letters in the uppercase, so there are only 217 billion variants. This is not an impossible task for a powerful GPU server. If the password length is 9 characters, then the number of possible variants increases to 5 trillion. That task is much more complicated, but with a strong desire and your financial support, it is quite solvable: it would take a week or two for our computing cluster to find such a password.

We guarantee 100% success if you specify the correct mask, that is the most important condition. Even one small mistake, a digit or a sign that was not taken into account, can lead to a fiasco.

Summary

Summarizing all the above, we compiled a table of chances for successful password recovery:

Type of attack Duration Cost Chances for success
Weak password recovery A few minutes Free ≈ 22%
Strong password recovery Up to 24 hours from $9 ≈ 61%
Brute force with a mask Depends on the mask and its complexity On request 100% (if the mask is correct)

See also

Copyright © 2017-2018 LostMyPass.com

Top